Paved with good intentions

Standard

I haven’t written a post for a very long time – over a month! I’ve meant to, of course, but I just didn’t get around to it.

I think now is a good time to get back into writing, as I’m taking a week off politics to really focus on flute playing (with a bit of German study thrown in for good measure). This was a necessary move, after weeks of gradually letting flute things slip as the amount of political work built steadily (the Res educational, Liam’s election campaign, CSG, IWD…). And now I’ve spent a few days in that state were I’m practically useless – having really lost any momentum and being behind on my original schedule, I’m finding it really difficult to get back into things.

But I did have a renewed list of goals after my rehearsal with Mitchell on Friday:

  1. Seriously tighten up my rhythm in the Penderecki, by working a lot with metronome, vocalising rhythms, walking and embodying the count and the beat and emphasising the rhythmic character of each phrase/section.
  2. Putting passages of piano accompaniment leading up to difficult entries into Sibelius to practise along with (I’ve done a bit of this over the last few days – it’s really worthwhile).
  3. Identifying where I still have major technical insecurity or problems and working out how best to address them, then addressing them.

Not an extravagant or insurmountable list, really not all that intimidating. But at the moment there’s that little additional mountain of getting into the mental space where these things are a possibility. And, as always, I could do with some sound-tech-tongue work to shape up physically too. I’m going to take a yoga class early tomorrow morning and then dive into this stuff.

Leave a Reply

