Asia (an upcoming concert!)

Standard

I might have mentioned once or twice that I play with this awesome ensemble, Kupka’s Piano!

Asia concert front

Anyhow, we have a really interesting concert coming up this Friday (8 March) at the Judith Wright Centre, and we’re really excited about it. We’ll be playing a variety of modern works by Asian and Australian composers, focussing especially on the work of composers of our own generation. More information on the concert as a whole is available here.

Personally, I am performing in three works on the program: Towards the Distant Plains II by young Chinese composer Wang Lu, Andante for bass flute by Isang Yun (from his flute etudes), and a new song-cycle by Liam Flenady called Stars, Not Far Off. You can listen to the Wang here and the Yun here (more on that one in a moment), and Liam has written his thoughts about his to-be-premiered setting of Wallace Stevens’ poetry on the Kupka’s blog – well worth a read. Better again, of course, will be to come along Friday and hear them “in the flesh”!

As I wrote in my previous post, I’ll be travelling to Japan later this month for an academy with Ensemble Modern, so it’s a very Asian-themed time for me! In the back of my mind is some ideas of repertoire I’d like to have prepared for when I go, however this is ruled mostly by what I think I can refresh in time from what I have already played – I also have a quite few pieces to get up for the YPA round 1 just before I leave! Probably some Saariaho, some Takemitsu, maybe Murail, the Yun if I can take my bass flute… I’d love to play all of Yun’s etudes sometime, the fifth especially:


Especially powerful memorised!

Leave a Reply

